District Two Supervisor Elected Chair of TCAG

June 21, 2010

Pete Vander Poel, the District Two representative on the Tulare County Board of Supervisors, was elected today chair of the Tulare County Association of Governments, or TCAG, for the next two years.

TCAG is an independent regional agency composed of representatives from the county and its eight incorporated cities. TCAG obtains and administers state and federal funding; oversees regional planning to comply with state and federal requirements; maintains the long-range transportation model for the county and its member agencies; researches and analyzes air quality issues related to transportation and other features that affect air quality; and serves as the primary agency for executing the provisions of Measure R, the half-cent sales tax dedicated to transportation projects.

Every two years TCAG elects a chair and vice-chair to its board. The term for this selection runs from July 1, 2010 to June 30, 2012. Any member of TCAG’s governing board may hold the position of chair or vice-chair. The TCAG governing board includes a representative from each incorporated city, the Tulare County Board of Supervisors, and three at-large members.

The TCAG governing board unanimously elected Supervisor Vander Poel as chair and Lindsay City Councilwoman Pam Kimball as vice-chair. Councilwoman Kimball’s election will mark her second two-year term as TCAG vice-chair.

“I’m thankful that my peers elected me to serve as TCAG’s chair for two years,” Supervisor Vander Poel said. “I look forward to representing all eight cities and the county when it comes to important regional transportation projects and other regional issues.”

District Five Supervisor Mike Ennis served as TCAG chair for the past two years.